RSS Feed

Garlic Cheesy Bread

I know, I know, I know…I keep using my oven.  Don’t worry, at this rate it will only take me till December to get to some more ice cream.  So yeah, it is 100° or so degrees during the day and I am using my oven.  To be fair, I only use it during the evening so I am not really making my house hotter just making sure it takes longer for it to cool down at night.

These two pictures, just want me to go make MORE bread.

Anyways, this recipe is something I have wanted to make ever since the first time I tried this Garlic Bread Pizza Crust from How Sweet It Is.  I knew it would make the best homemade garlic bread.  Also, just FYI, this is just my absolute favorite pizza dough recipe EVER!  One of the only things I do to this recipe is mix flours.  It is something I do a lot.  I love sneaking whole wheat flour into as much as I can get away with.  My husband hates the taste of whole wheat flour.  After much trial and error (or just husband not wanting to eat something because he can “taste” the wheat) I have come up with the rule of one third.  It works for me.  For the most part, with a new bread recipe I will always try it as is.  When I want to make it again, I always use 1/3 wheat flour, 1/3 AP flour, and 1/3 bread flour.  It always ends up better.  I have done it with quite a few recipes and it tends to give me the rise I want and the wheat amount that my husband can deal with.

When I make the pizza dough, I always double the recipe.  If I only make one, we eat it all and I am a firm believer that if you have pizza, you MUST have leftovers.  The problem is, I don’t like to eat pepperoni pizza.  Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE pepperoni pizza but pepperoni is one of the worst toppings you can put on a pizza.  So I usually end up making a “mommy” pizza with ham and pineapple or barbeque chicken or just veggies.  This time I decided to make a cheesy garlic bread with the other half of the dough.  Probably just as healthy as eating the fatty pepperoni.  Whatever…

Good, better, better, BEST!

Flavor is just bursting out of this sucker and the cheese topping came out EXACTLY as I wanted it.  My hardest one to please, my husband, loved them just as much as I did.  My easiest one to please, my oldest, thought it needed to be more cheesy.  I guess next time I will just have to put some cheese inside the bread.

Now onto the GeekyLinks…Yes, I am still obsessed with the Curiosity Rover.  This is my favorite video right now and what I like about it is that it evokes in me the feeling I had when it actually happened.  I still get teary towards the end.  This one just makes me laugh and I came to watch it because none other than Bobak Ferdowsi tweeted it.  Also, the space shuttle Endeavour is coming to California and I can’t wait!  I am wondering if I should go see its trek through the streets of L.A. or wait till it gets to the California Science Center.  Decisions, decisions…

Garlic Cheesy Bread

adapted from How Sweet It Is

Ingredients

3 teaspoons active dry yeast

1 1/2 tablespoons honey or sugar

1 1/2 tablespoons olive oil

1 1/8 cups warm water (100°-105°)

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1 teaspoon dried basil

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 cup bread flour

1 cup all-purpose flour (or you could use 3 cups of all purpose flour instead of mixing the three)

3 tablespoons unsalted melted butter

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1 tablespoon parmesan cheese

Cheesy Topping

2 cups shredded cheese (whatever you’d like, I used a mix of mozzarella, cheddar, and provolone)

1 teaspoon basil

1 teaspoon oregano

1 tablespoon olive oil

Method

In a large bowl place yeast, honey, and olive oil.  Add the warm water and stir.  Let sit till it is foamy, about ten minutes.

In a teeny prep bowl, mix salt,  1 teaspoon garlic powder, and dried basil and set aside.

Once the yeast is foamy mix in the herbs and then mix in 1 cup of whole wheat flour, 1 cup of bread flour, and 1/2 cup of all purpose flour or 2 1/2 cups of all purpose flour.  Stir with a spatula or spoon until the dough comes together but is still sticky.  Turn out dough onto a floured work surface.  Knead the rest of the 1/2 cup all purpose flour a little at a time (you may not use it all) into your dough.  Continue kneading for a few minutes.  Quickly wipe out the bowl of any remaining flour and then grease with olive oil.  Place the dough inside and turn to coat.  Cover and put in a warm place to rise for about 1 1/2 hours.

Preheat oven to 375°.

Grease an 8×8 cake pan and set aside.

After the dough is risen, punch it down and turn it out again onto a floured work surface. Separate the dough into six pieces (or more if you prefer).  Using a rolling pin or your hands, form the dough into your desired shape.  Place the mini loaves into the greased pan.  Cover and let rise for 30-45 minutes.

While the dough is rising, mix the 2 cups of cheese with the basil, oregano, and olive oil and set aside.  I used my hands to make sure everything was coated.  Mix the melted butter with the other teaspoon of garlic powder and parmesan cheese.

Once the dough is risen, use a pastry brush to cover the loaves with the parmesan garlic butter mixture.  Cover generously.  Sprinkle the herb cheese mixture over the loaves, covering every nook and cranny.  I did have about 1/4 cup or so left over and I just put it on the pizza I made.

Bake for 23-25 minutes.  Rotate your pan 3/4 of the way through the baking time if you need to, for even browning.  Let cool for about 10 minutes.  Enjoy the cheesy goodness.  Also, you could serve with extra pizza or marinara sauce if desired.

About NerdyBaker

My name is Celina. I am a wife and mother of three. I love to bake, go to the movies, read when I can and I am kind of a great big nerd. Just don't tell my husband.

2 responses »

  1. Celina that cheesy garlic bread looks fantastic, nothing is better than warm bread and that melty cheese makes it even more addictive. I love that you used some whole wheat flour along with the bread and AP flours.

    Reply

Let me know your thoughts...

